1. hohetauern.info>
  2. Activities>
  3. Alpine pastures

Alpine pastures in the Hohe Tauern National Park

Alpine summer – that denotes aromatic hay, extensive flower-filled meadows, the sound of cow bells, taking a deep breath, enjoyment. The alpine pasture is a place filled with glorious romance, but it is also a place of hard, yet rewarding work. In the Hohe Tauern National Park there are some 350 alpine pastures which span 91,000 hectares. No other national park has such a high density of alpine pastures. To manage an Alpine pasture is a time-intensive, responsible task. Yet it also makes a valuable contribution to maintaining the precious cultural landscape of the Hohe Tauern National Park.

Traditional culture is alive and well on the alpine pastures, handed down from generation to generation. Here precious raw materials are turned into valuable foods. It takes a great deal of painstaking work to preserve the landscape here. Boosting local domestic animal breeds makes a fundamental contribution to preserving the variety of species. 

Pure natural pleasure.

Nature-lovers, families, outdoor activists and those of you who have had enough of mass tourism, superficiality and short-lived trends, are re-discovering the alpine pastures as a holiday destination. But even just for a refreshment stop during one of the many hiking tours through the Hohe Tauern National Park, the many alpine inns provide an ideal place to rest, relax and re-energise.

An organic holiday in an Alpine lodge.

Pure natural surroundings, broad alpine meadows, rare alpine flowers and a breath-taking mountain panorama make an idyllic alpine summer perfect. The farmers tend the alpine pastures and meadows in a wholly organic manner.

Who hasn't dreamt of really being a part of Alpine life – being there when food is made, watching the farmer's wife prepare traditional meals, or even helping out; staying the night in a hay store or just watching out for chamois and marmots. It is with a healthy dose of 'deceleration' that this cultural area opens up new perspectives for body and soul.

Alpine huts in TyrolTo the regionmore about
Alpine huts in SalzburgTo the regionmore about
Alpine huts in CarinthiaTo the regionmore about

1. hohetauern.info>
  2. Aktivitäten>
  3. Almen

Almen im Nationalpark Hohe Tauern

Almsommer, das bedeutet duftendes Heu, weite Blumenwiesen, Kuhglockenläuten, durchatmen, genießen. Die Alm ist ein Ort voll verklärter Romantik, aber auch ein Ort der harten, doch lohnenden Arbeit. Im Nationalpark Hohe Tauern gibt es rund 350 Almen mit 91.000 Hektar Almfläche. Kein anderer Nationalpark verfügt über eine so hoche Almendichte. Eine Alm zu bewirtschaften ist eine zeitintensive, verantwortungsvolle Aufgabe. Es ist aber auch ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Erhaltung der wertvollen Kulturlandschaft des Nationalparks Hohe Tauern.

Auf den Almen wird traditionelle Volkskultur gelebt und von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben. Hier werden kostbare Rohstoffe zu hochwertigen Lebensmitteln verarbeitet. Durch viel mühevolle Arbeit wird hier ein außerordentliches Landschaftsbild gewahrt. Mit dem Auftrieb heimischer Haustierrassen wird außerdem ein wesentlicher Beitrag zur Erhaltung der Artenvielfalt geleistet. 

ERROR: Content Element type "textmedia" has no rendering definition!

Naturgenuss pur.

Naturliebhaber, Familien, Outdoor-Aktivisten und vor allem Menschen, die genug haben von Massentourismus, Oberflächlichkeit und kurzlebigen Trends, haben die Almen für sich als Urlaubsdestination wiederentdeckt. Aber auch für eine Einkehr nach einer der zahlreichen Wandertouren durch den Nationalpark Hohe Tauern bieten viele Almhütten einen idealen Ort zur Rast, Erholung und zur Stärkung.

Bio-Urlaub auf der Alm.

Reine Natur, weite Almmatten, seltene Alpenblumen und ein atemberaubendes Bergpanorama machen den idyllischen Almsommer perfekt. Die Almen und Wiesen werden von Bauern ausschließlich biologisch bewirtschaftet.

Wer träumt nicht davon, einmal so richtig am Almleben teilzuhaben: bei der Erzeugung von Lebensmitteln dabeisein, der Bäuerin bei der Zubereitung von traditionellen Gerichten über die Schulter schauen oder sogar mithelfen, im Heulager übernachten oder einfach nach Gämsen oder Murmeltieren Ausschau halten. Mit einer gesunden Portion „Entschleunigung“ eröffnet dieser Kulturraum völlig neue Perspektiven für Körper und Seele.

Almen in OsttirolZur Regionmehr darüber
Almen in SalzburgZur Regionmehr darüber
Almen in KärntenZur Regionmehr darüber