1. hohetauern.info>
  2. Excursion destinations

FANTASTIC EXCURSION DESTINATIONS IN THE REGION

Mittersill National Park Centre

Who wouldn't want to fly above the valleys of the National Park to see them from an eagle's perspective, scramble about in a marmot den or see the stream bed from a pebble's view? Young and old visitors alike get to experience this and much more the the National Park realms in Mittersill.

Mallnitz National Park Centre

The exhibits in Mallnitz National Park Centre are like an interactive adventure realm where there is much to discover. What is life? How did it come about and where can you find it? In Mallnitz National Park Centre every visitor becomes an explorer.

Matrei National Park House

On a full two floors you get to find out all sorts of interesting information about the plants and animals in the Hohe Tauern National Park, and also about the history of the National Park.

Haus Alpine Naturschau (2260m)

A contemporary museum for ecology in the high mountains, Murmi show and exhibits, open-air installation 'The highest of Salzburg's giant mountains', educational plant trail 'The realm of lichens in the high mountains", shop and bistro.

Irschen herbal village

Herbs and wild plants enjoy a long tradition in the herbal village of Irschen. The knowledge and experiences about the versatile applications and processing of herbs and healing plants are revealed to our visitors and guests during guided tours, seminars and presentations in our herbal village.

Debanttal

Spanning 16km in total, Debanttal is the longest, enclosed Alpine valley in Austria. It is also a wild and romantic valley in East Tyrol.

Krimml Waterfalls

Powerful masses of water plunge down into the depths leaving wonderful rainbows and they are much sought-after as a natural remedy. The Krimml waterfalls – the biggest waterfalls in Europe – magic up a breath-taking natural setting in the Hohe Tauern National Park.  

Groppenstein gorge

This recently designed gorge trail is an experience for all the senses. Along the route you become aware of the gorge and the "5 senses". You will be amazed by the wild and romantic rock slip sceneries, fantastic waterfalls like the Groppensteinfall and the Zechnerfall, and natural pools.

Umbal Falls

Anyone who visits the Umbal Falls, will be brushing with the first water exhibition trail in Europe. Set off from Ströden car park. 

Edelweiß summit (2571m)

A short access road to the highest viewing point which provides a panoramic view to more than 30 three-thousand metre mountains, 'Bikers Point'. Unsuitable for buses.

Hochtor (2504m)

PASSHÖHE - "Passheiligtum Hochtor" exhibition, "Celts, trading route and Roman road" (30 mins) educational trail, shop and bistro which has a lovely viewing terrace.

Ködnitztal

Probably the most spectacular valley in East Tyrol, the head-liner in this impressive scenery is the stunning, huge Großglockner. 

The Wildkogel

The area around the Wildkogel is the highlight of Salzburg's group of grass mountains and opens up breath-taking views to the wonderful summits of the Hohe Tauern. After a strenuous day on your feet, the cosy restaurants with their delicious Pinzgau foods invite you to rest up and enjoy yourself.

Mautturm Winklern

The "Tauern-Kristall-Schatz" exhibition in Mautturm Winklern reveals the inspiring realm of mountain gems. The artistically arranged mountain crystals and minerals emit a mysterious radiance!

Jagdhausalm

Jagdhausalm is located at 2009 metres altitude in Defereggental. It comprises 15 stone houses, along with the Maria Hilf chapel and is one of the oldest Alpine inns in Austria.

Weißsee glacier realm

Come with us into the heart of the Hohe Tauern National Park and experience a high Alpine holiday realm which in summer invites young and old alike to enjoy unforgettable tours of all difficulty levels. At above 2300m altitude, the unforgettable mountain backdrop opens up – a realm of glaciers and 3000 metre summits.

Schöneck (1.953 m)

Natural spectacle, botanic circular hike "Wunderwelt Glocknerwiesen" (10 mins), themed playground, guest-house.

Innergschlöß

Innergschlöss is an alpine settlement in Gschlösstal. It is located at 1689m altitude and is said by many people to be the loveliest valley head in the East Alps.

Kitzsteinhorn Kaprun

Surrounded by the highest summits in Austria, a mountain adventure at its most impressive opens up here – snow fun in the summer for all the family at 3000 metres, dreamy pistes in the winter and 'Gipfelwelt 3000' which has the National Park Gallery and is open year-round.

European conservation area - Obere Drau

The 45 km long Oberdrautal spans Tiroler Tor and Sachsenburger Klause and is one of the loveliest and most environmentally valuable river valleys in the southern Alps. Ideal for canoeists and for raft rides.

Birds of prey observatory and Rauris gold-panning site

The inspiration of birds of prey – experience otherwise shy owls and birds of prey on the Hochalm in Rauris up close and with the impressive backdrop of the Hohe Tauern National Park. The gold-panning site is situated right next to the Heimalm at the intermediate station and invites treasure-hunters to experience genuine golden moments.

Kaiser-Franz-Josefs-Höhe (2.369 m)

iews direct to the Großglockner and the Pasterze. Visitor centre with special exhibition - "The success story of the automobile" & art exhibition "Alpenliebe", Glockner cinema, Glockner panorama room, National Park information point. Wilhelm Swarovski observatory, Gamsgrubenweg panoramic trail, Kaisersteinweg trail and Gletscherweg trail (steep alpine path).

Heiligenblut gold mining village

Be inspired by the gold rush! In the only gold mining village in the Alps in Fleißtal close to Heiligenblut. This little settlement has been reconstructed on this historic site and is in keeping with the original. After a trip to the village you can pan for gold in the Fleißbach, where you might even find a small nugget.

Gamsgrubenweg

The depths of the Gamsgruben tunnel whisk you off into a realm of myths and legends, entwined around the formation of the 9 km Pasterze Glacier. Go back into the realms of the mysterious past on the 650m installation made from stone, light, sound and paintings. At the end of the legendary journey through the tunnel you are rewarded with a superb view to the Pasterze.

1. hohetauern.info>
  2. Ausflugsziele

TOP AUSFLUGSZIELE DER REGION

Nationalparkzentrum Mittersill

Wer möchte nicht gerne einmal die Täler des Nationalparks aus der Perspektive eines Adlers überfliegen, in einen Murmeltierbau krabbeln oder das Bachbett aus der Sicht eines Kieselsteins betrachten? Das und noch viel mehr können große und kleine Besucher/innen in den Nationalparkwelten in Mittersill erleben.

Nationalparkzentrum Mallnitz

Die Ausstellungen im Nationalparkzentrum Mallnitz gleichen einer interaktiven Erlebniswelt, in der es viel zu entdecken gibt. Was ist Leben? Wie ist es entstanden und wo ist es zu finden? Im Nationalparkzentrum Mallnitz wird jeder Besucher zum Forscher.

Nationalparkhaus Matrei

Auf zwei ganzen Stockwerke erfahren Sie allerlei Wissenswertes über die Pflanzen und Tiere des Nationalparks Hohe Tauern, sowie über die Geschichte des Nationalparks an sich.

Haus Alpine Naturschau (2.260 m)

Modernes Museum zur Ökologie im Hochgebirge, Murmi-Show und Ausstellungen, Freiluftinstallation „Die höchsten Salzburger“ – Bergriesen“, Pflanzenlehrweg "Welt der Flechten im Hochgebirge", Shop und Bistro.

Kräuterdorf Irschen

Kräuter und Wildpflanzen haben im Kräuterdorf Irschen schon lange Tradition. Das Wissen und die Erfahrungen über die vielfältige Verwendung und Verarbeitung von Kräutern und Heilpflanzen werden in Führungen, Seminaren und Vorträgen an Besucher und Gäste unseres Kräuterdorfes weitergegeben.

Debanttal

Das Debanttal ist mit einer Gesamtlänge von 16 km das längste, in sich geschlossene Almtal Österreichs. Zu gleich auch das wildromantischste Tal in Osttirol.

Krimmler Wasserfälle

Gewaltige Wassermassen stürzen in die Tiefe, hinterlassen wunderschöne Regenbogen und sind als Naturheilmittel sehr begehrt. Die Krimmler Wasserfälle – die größten Wasserfälle Europas – zaubern eine atemberaubende Naturkulisse mitten in den Nationalpark Hohe Tauern. 

Groppensteinschlucht

Der neu inszenierte Schluchtenweg ist ein Erlebnis für alle Sinne. Entlang des Weges wird man für die Schlucht und die "5 Sinne" sensibilisiert. Wildromantische Bergsturzszenerien, phantastische Wasserfälle, wie Groppenstein- und Zechnerfall, und Kolken bringen Sie zum Staunen.

Umbalfälle

Wer die Umbalfälle besucht, bekommt es auch mit dem ersten Wasserschaupfad Europas zu tun. Vom Parkplatz Ströden ausgehend kann man sich zu diesem begeben.

Edelweiß-Spitze (2.571 m)

Kurze Stichstraße zum höchsten Aussichtspunkt mit Panoramablick auf mehr als 30 Dreitausender, Bikers-Point. Nicht für Busse geeignet.

Hochtor (2.504 m)

PASSHÖHE - Ausstellung "Passheiligtum Hochtor", Lehrwanderweg "Kelten-, Säumer und Römerweg" (30 min), Shop und Bistro mit schöner Aussichtsterrasse.

Ködnitztal

Das wohl spektakulärste Tal in Osttirol, Hauptdarsteller in dieser beeindruckenden Szenerie ist der wuchtige, massive Großglockner.

Der Wildkogel

Das Gebiet rund um den Wildkogel ist das Highlight der Salzburger Grasbergruppe und eröffnet Ihnen atemberaubende Aussicht auf die beeindruckenden Gipfel der Hohen Tauern. Nach einem anstrengenden Tag auf den Beinen laden gemütliche Restaurants mit ihren Pinzgauer Schmankerln zum Rasten und Genießen ein.

Mautturm Winklern

Die Ausstellung "Tauern-Kristall-Schatz" im Mautturm Winklern wird Sie in die faszinierende Welt der Bergkristalle versetzen. Geheimnisvoll leuchten die kunstvoll arrangierten Bergkristalle und Mineralien!

Jagdhausalm

Die Jagdhausalm liegt auf 2.009 Meter Seehöhe im Defereggental. Sie besteht aus 15 Steinhäusern, sowie der Maria-Hilf-Kapelle und zählt zu den ältesten Almen Österreichs.

Weißsee Gletscherwelt

Begleiten Sie uns mitten ins Herz des Nationalparks Hohe Tauern und erleben Sie eine hochalpine Ferienwelt, die im Sommer zu unvergesslichen Touren in allen Schwierigkeitsgraden für jung und alt lädt. In über 2.300 m Höhe eröffnet sich eine unvergessliche Bergkulisse – eine Welt der Gletscher und 3.000er Gipfel.

Schöneck (1.953 m)

Naturschau, botanischer Rundwanderweg "Wunderwelt Glocknerwiesen" (10 min), Themenspielplatz , Gasthaus.

Innergschlöß

Bei Innergschlöss handelt es sich um eine Almsiedlung im Gschlösstal. Es liegt auf einer Seehöhe von 1689 m und wird von so manchem als schönster Talschluss der Ostalpen genannt.

Kitzsteinhorn Kaprun

Umgeben von den höchsten Gipfeln Österreichs, eröffnet sich hier das Abenteuer Berg von seiner gewaltigsten Seite: Schneevergnügen im Sommer für die ganze Familie auf 3.000 Metern, traumhafte Pisten im Winter und die ganzjährig geöffnete Gipfelwelt 3000 mit der Nationalpark Gallery.

Europaschutzgebiet Obere Drau

Zwischen Tiroler Tor und Sachsenburger Klause erstreckt sich das 45 km lange Oberdrautal, eines der schönsten und ökologisch wertvollsten Flusstäler der südlichen Alpen. Ideal für Kanuwanderer und Floßfahrten.

Greifvogelwarte und Goldwaschplatz Rauris

Faszination Greifvögel: erleben Sie die sonst so scheuen Eulen und Greifvögel auf der Hochalm in Rauris hautnah vor der imposanten Kulisse des Nationalparks Hohe Tauern. Der Goldwaschplatz liegt direkt neben der Heimalm an der Mittelstation und lädt Schatzsucher ein, echt goldene Momente zu erleben.

Kaiser-Franz-Josefs-Höhe (2.369 m)

Aussichtsstelle direkt auf den Großglockner und die Pasterze. Besucherzentrum mit Sonderausstellung "Erfolgsgeschichte des Automobils" & Kunstausstellung "Alpenliebe", Glockner-Kino, Glockner Panoramaraum, Nationalpark-Infostelle. Wilhelm-Swarovski-Beobachtungswarte, Panoramawege Gamsgrubenweg, Kaisersteinweg und Gletscherweg (alpiner Steig).

Goldgräberdorf Heiligenblut

Der Goldrausch wird auch Sie verzaubern! Im einzigen Goldgräberdorf der Alpen im Fleißtal nahe Heiligenblut. Original rekonstruiert wurde die kleine Siedlung auf historischem Boden neu errichtet. Nach dem Besuch des Dorfes können Sie im Fleißbach Goldwaschen und vielleicht sogar einen kleinen Nugget finden.

Gamsgrubenweg

Die Tiefen des Gamsgrubentunnels entführen Sie in die Welt der Sage, die sich um die Entstehung der heute 9 km langen Pasterze rankt. Lassen Sie sich mit der 650 m langen Installation aus Stein, Licht, Ton und Malerei in eine mystische Vergangenheit versetzen. Am Ende der sagenhaften Reise durch den Tunnel werden Sie mit einem grandiosen Blick auf die Pasterze belohnt.